About the Provost

Laura Mueller-Joseph, EdD, Senior Vice President and Chief Academic Officer, has served as Provost of Farmingdale State College since 2021.

A prolific scholar, educator and academic leader, Dr. Joseph has had a distinguished tenure at Farmingdale State College. Prior to her role as Provost, she served as Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, and also as Acting Assistant Dean of the School of Health Sciences. Dr. Joseph began her academic career at Farmingdale State College in 1991 as a faculty member in the Department of Dental Hygiene and served as Department Chair from 2003-2013.

In addition to her work in health promotion and disease prevention, Dr. Joseph has been actively engaged in accreditation and institutional assessment. She served as FSC’s liaison to the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and Commissioner for the American Dental Associations' Commission on Dental Accreditation. She continues to serve as an accreditation consultant and has led FSC's Assessment initiative.

Photo of Laura Joseph

Laura Joseph, PhD

Dr. Joseph is a recipient of the prestigious SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Old Dominion University's Alumni Award for Outstanding Educator as a result of her passion for active learning and innovative pedagogy. She is actively engaged with the SUNY Chief Academic Officers’ Association serving as chair from 2021-2023 and has contributed to SUNY operations through her work on various working groups and task forces.

Prior to FSC, Dr. Joseph was a clinical research investigator at Fairleigh Dickinson University's Research Center where she conducted research in oral health and disease prevention. Dr. Joseph served as a national and international consultant on clinical calibration. Additional activities of scholarship include grants as well as publications on allied dental education.

Dr. Joseph earned an EdD in Higher Education and Academic Leadership from Columbia University, and BS and MS degrees in Science from Old Dominion University.

Office of the Provost

Horton Hall, Room 230


Dr. Laura Joseph
Senior Vice President and Provost


Dr. Christopher Malone
Associate Provost


Dr. Christopher LaBarbera
Assistant Provost


Christine Harrigan
Executive Assistant to the Provost


Holly Gordon
Admin. Assistant to the Provost


Loretta Costello
Admin. Assistant to the Executive Assistant to the Provost


Amanda Gist
Admin. Assistant to the Associate Provost and Assistant Provost

Last Modified 12/7/23