Stony Brook University

Lead Institution

NSF-AGEP Leadership:

  • Toni Sperzel, PhD Co-PI and Project Director
  • Karian Wright, MBA Program Manager
  • Bonita London, PhD Co-PI Research Study

Stony Brook University, as lead institution of the State University of New York (SUNY) AGEP alliance, was among the first funded AGEP programs in the country in 1999. SUNY AGEP was a highly effective partnership among Stony Brook University (SBU) and the other SUNY doctoral degree-granting Centers: the University at Albany, the University at Buffalo and Binghamton University. The goal was to increase the recruitment, retention and doctoral degree conferral rates for underrepresented students in STEM. This project resulted in a threefold increase in underrepresented minority (URM) STEM graduate students and a nearly fourfold increase in URM STEM doctoral graduation rates across the alliance.

In 2013, the AGEP-T FRAME Alliance was launched between SBU and Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) with a goal of capitalizing on the rigor and research accomplishments at SBU and BNL to build an equally productive, broader partnership aimed at helping URM graduate students and postdocs develop the essential skills to succeed in the competitive professional environment of the Professoriate. AGEP T-FRAME sought to transition participants to faculty careers at research-intensive institutions, supporting the recruitment and career development of 11 URM postdocs in STEM at SBU and BNL, in addition to 32 URM STEM PhD students at SBU.

Building on the strengths of the two previous Alliances, the new AGEP PUI Alliance emerged.

Stony Brook University Logo

Suffolk County Community College

NSF-AGEP Leadership:

  • Candice J. Foley, Ph.D., PI - Suffolk County Community College
  • Nina A Leonhardt, MBA, SCCC AGEP Coordinator
Suffolk County Community College Logo

Brookhaven National Laboratory

NSF-AGEP Leadership:

  • Kenneth White, MBA, Co-PI
  • Noel Blackburn, Co-Pl
Brookhaven National Laboratory Logo


Greenley Library, Lower Level RAM Suite
Monday-Friday 9:00am -5:00pm


Erwin Cabrera
Director of RAM Program; Principal Investigator, NSF-AGEP@FSC

Erica LoBello
Project Coordinator

Last Modified 6/29/20