Faculty, and Students Honored for Leadership in Diversity, Ethics, and Inclusion

On October 3, 2023, Farmingdale State College’s (FSC) annual President’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Award Ceremony, was proudly hosted by John S. Nader, PhD, president of FSC, and Dr. Kevin Jordan, vice president of diversity, equity, and inclusive excellence and chief diversity officer.  

The 2023 President’s DEI award recipients, Dr. Sherry Manansingh, associate professor for nursing, and Killian Dreisbach, ‘23, a nursing major, were chosen for their outstanding leadership and efforts in addressing and raising awareness respecting issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion. During the ceremony, seven FSC students were also honored with a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Excellence Student Leadership Recognition Award.  

“This is a great celebration and many congratulations to our award recipients. They personify our vision of making the world, indeed--making humanity, better for one another regardless of the differences and backgrounds that we will always have,” said President Nader. “The United States, at its best, has always used the motto, ‘E pluribus unum.’ Out of many, one. Today, we remember that we are many, but we are one community.” 

“Dr. Manansingh has made exceptional contributions to fostering a diverse, equitable, and inclusive college community through her unwavering dedication, leadership, and impactful initiatives,” said Jordan of Manansingh, who was recently appointed as the Secretary for campus-wide DEI. “She has actively worked towards creating an environment that celebrates and respects the diverse backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives of all students, faculty, and staff. Her commitment to promoting diversity in her teaching, her leadership in initiating impactful programs, and her mentorship of students from diverse backgrounds exemplify the qualities necessary for an Award for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.” 

“The empathy that is ingrained in her character is essential to address many disparities within the health care system. Killian wholeheartedly realizes, as a rising health professional, there is work to be done,” Jordan said of Dreisbach, who is involved as a student leader in the Student Nurses Association on campus as well as at the state level, and most recently worked with the Student Nurses Association to increase diversity in the nursing program. “Thank you, Killian, for demonstrating that your love for healthcare is also a demonstration of your love for humanity.”   

2023 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Excellence Student Leadership Recognition Award Recipients include: 

  • Henry Chalco-Torres, '26, an electrical engineering technology major: EOP Student and Peer Advisor 
  • Aaliyah Green, '24, a health promotion and wellness major: Social Justice Advocate/Secretary on LICAB's Youth Board
  • Leslie Rodriguez, '25, a science, technology, and society major: FSC LASO Leader
  • Juliet Jordan, '26, a science, technology, and society major: FSC Founder and President of the Disability Coalition Club 
  • Tamiya Gordan, '24, a medical laboratory science major: CSTEP Student and Advocate for the Long Island Coalition for the Homeless
  • Destini Buchanan, '24, a bioscience major with a minor in business management and a certification in cannabis production management: SGA President, Secretary of the NAACP, Vice President of the Afro-Caribbean Club
  • Oscar Bonilla, '23, an electrical engineering technology major with a minor in applied mathematics: RAM Student/Peer Advisor, CSTEP Student, Electrical Engineering Tutor, SGA Member, President of the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers 

For more information, please visit the 2023 President’s DEI Awards Ceremony webpage or visit the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Excellence Student Leadership Recognition Award Recipients webpage. 

View more photos from the DEI Award Ceremony on our Flickr Gallery.