July has been a prominent month in the history of disability rights since the establishment of the landmark law, Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) in 1990.  Essentially, it prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities.  As we celebrate and honor Disability Pride Month, it is a time to recognize the diversity and uniqueness of each person within the disability community in acknowledgment of their admirable and inspirational contributions to society.  

Disability Pride Month evolved following the historic legislation with the first-held ever Disability Pride Day event in Boston, Massachusetts.  Since this memorable day, Disability Pride events have been held across the country and worldwide.  

Furthermore, the Disability Pride Flag was introduced by Ann Magill, a disabled woman who created each of its elements to symbolize various aspects of the disability community.  

  • The Black Field:  this field represents the disabled people who have lost their lives due not only to their illness, but also to negligence, suicide, and eugenics.  
  • The Colors: each color on the flag represents a diverse aspect of disability or impairment.
  • Red:  physical disabilities
  • Yellow:  cognitive and intellectual disabilities. 
  • White:  invisible and undiagnosed disabilities.
  • Blue:  mental illness.
  • Green:  sensory perception disabilities.