Go to Main NavigationGo to Secondary NavigationGo to SearchGo to Left NavigationSkip to Main ContentGo to Footer Navigation
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

June 25, 2010

Conference Held on Campus Friday, May 7, 2010

Front row, left to right – Amana Alam, William Titus, Gino Vargas, Steve Bissereth,Michael Forte, Daniel Ford, Christopher Salami;
back row,
left to right – Dr. John Fiorillo, Dr. Charles Rubenstein, Mr. Dave Mesecher, Dr. Kamal Shahrabi, Dr. Lorraine Greenwald, Dr. Hubert Keen, Richard Overton, Dr. Miriam Deitsch, Dr. Henry Sikorski, Dr. Lucia Cepriano, Prof. Socrates Thanasus
Farmingdale State College hosted the 6th annual IEEE 2010 Long Island Systems, Applications and Technology Conference (LISAT2010).

The LISAT2010 Conference and Farmingdale College Foundation awarded seven Farmingdale State students each with a $500 scholarship to be applied towards their tuition costs. This was the fourth year that the IEEE Long Island Region 1's LISAT Conference sponsored student scholarships and the second consecutive year the Foundation has matched the IEEE funds for the scholarships.

The scholarship recipients included Amana Alam of Lindenhurst, Steeve Bisserth of Elmont, Daniel Ford of West Islip, Michael Forte of Wantagh, Christopher Salemi of North Babylon, William Titus of Woodhaven and Gino Vargas of Farmingdale.

"It has been a great honor to host the IEEE LISAT annual conference at Farmingdale," said President Keen. "The research and intellectual exchange afforded to our students and faculty by this event greatly enriches the academic environment, and the support to our students that is represented by these scholarships is most important.  I am grateful to LISAT and the Farmingdale College Foundation.  Our students interest in and contributions to science and technology grows each year."

Dr. W. Hubert Keen, president of Farmingdale State College, Richard Overton, president of Farmingdale College Foundation, Dr.  Lucia Cepriano, vice president for academic affairs, Dr. Charles Rubenstein, IEEE Director, and David Mesecher, conference chairperson, presented scholarships to the students. For more information, please contact Dr. John Fiorillo at 631.420.2085 or by email at john.fiorillo@farmingdale.edu.