Go to Main NavigationGo to Secondary NavigationGo to SearchGo to Left NavigationSkip to Main ContentGo to Footer Navigation
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

March 24, 2010

Farmingdale’s STEP Students Take First Place In Statewide Science Bowl

Students Will Next Compete in National Science Bowl

Farmingdale State College is pleased to announce that its Science and Technology Entry Program (STEP) students were awarded first place in the statewide Science Bowl held at the University at Albany on February 5, 2010. Next, the winners will compete in STEP's prestigious National Science Bowl in Washington, DC, in April 2010.

STEP prepares historically underrepresented and economically disadvantaged
elementary and secondary school students to acquire the aptitude and skills necessary to pursue post-secondary degree programs that lead to professional careers in the scientific, technical, health-related or other licensed professions.

Participants from Farmingdale State College, which runs the program for local students, include: Kevin Bocanegro, captain, Farmingdale High School; Diego Suriel, co-captain, Farmingdale High School; Roberto Cantos, Farmingdale High School; Mike Hernandez, Farmingdale High School; John Lopes, Farmingdale High School; Peter Macchia, science teacher and coach, Farmingdale High School; and Prema Muthuswamy, STEP program mentor, Farmingdale State College.

Farmingdale State College President W. Hubert Keen, a former biology teacher and professor, said, "What a wonderful honor for the STEP students, and such a great tribute to Dr. Venkitaswamy Raju, professor of mechanical engineering technology, and Ms. Muthaswamy for the work they are doing with the STEP/CSTEP programs.  To engage high school students in science and technology is one of the highest goals of K-12 education today, and this work is making a great contribution in immersing students in programs that have the potential to lead them into college programs."

The other statewide winners were one of two teams from Union College, which took second place; Monroe Community College, which took third; and one of two teams from SUNY Fredonia, the competition's round robin winner. Additional participating colleges and universities included Syracuse University; SUNY Albany; Rochester Institute of Technology, with two teams; Fulton Montgomery Community College; Albany Medical College, with two teams; and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.