State Car Procedures
The following instructions prepared by Fleet Management are intended to provide guidance in the use of state owned vehicles. Please also see New York State Budget Policy and Reporting Manual Item 750 for further guidance.
- Operation of State vehicles must be in full compliance with all New York State laws.
All eligible drivers must be employees of New York State or other authorized personnel, and have a valid driver's license.
- Fleet vehicles should be used for all automobile travel within 200 miles of the campus and trips to Albany. Rental cars should be used for travel beyond 200 miles from campus.
- Smoking in State vehicles is prohibited.
- Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol is prohibited
- Possession and/or use of alcohol, illegal drugs or other intoxicating substances in a State vehicle is strictly forbidden.
- Use of cellular phones, blackberries and other electronic communication device without a hands-free adaptor is prohibited.
- State vehicles must be used only on official State business. Personal use of state vehicles is prohibited.
- Drivers are to conform to all New York State Motor Vehicle regulations.
- Request forms for vehicle usage must be filled out and properly signed and in the hands of the dispatcher 3 days prior to departure.
- Vehicles should be picked up between 7:30 am and 4:00 pm.
- When vehicles are to be picked up on weekends and after hours, employees must arrange with dispatcher at extension 2658 or the garage at extension 2492 to pick up keys.
- A credit card for gasoline is in the glove compartment and an EZ Pass is affixed to the windshield for your convenience.
- It is your responsibility to see the car is kept clean
- The mileage log must be properly filled out at the end of each destination. Please make all notations so they are legible.
- Please notify the dispatcher at 2658 of any cancellations
- Employees must be on campus eligible drivers list. Please contact campus police at extension 2111 or the dispatcher at extension 2658 to ensure driver is eligible to drive a state vehicle.
- Cars returning to Campus after 4:00 pm and on weekends should park the vehicle in front of the Garage and deposit the keys in the box at the gas pumps.