Go to Main NavigationGo to Secondary NavigationGo to SearchGo to Left NavigationSkip to Main ContentGo to Footer Navigation
Two students in foreground talking, two in background talking on a fall day.
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Holiday Calendar

A Guide - List of Major Religious Holidays for Academic Year 2017-18

Farmingdale State College is committed to ensuring that every student will have the right to pursue their education while practicing their faith. Likewise, faculty and staff have a responsibility to make appropriate provisions for their related activities when observing a religious holiday. The following is a list of the major Jewish, Islamic, Hindu, and Christian holidays. This list is not all-inclusive and does not reflect all religious holidays. We provide this as a guide to ensure that our students, faculty, and staff are aware of the major celebrations for the coming academic year.

Special arrangements must be made between a student and instructor for religious observances. Special arrangements must be made between a faculty or staff member and his/her department chair or supervisor for religious observances.

As stated in the College Catalog, under the State Education Law, please note:

"It shall be the responsibility of the faculty and of the administrative officials of each institution of higher education to make available to each student who is absent from school because of his/her religious beliefs, an equivalent opportunity to make up any examination, study or work requirements which he/she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day or days."

 

Fall 2017
Name of Holiday Religion Dates Days of the Week
Eid al-Adha Islamic 9/1/17 Friday
Muharram (Al Hijrah - New Year) Islamic 9/21/17 Thursday
Navaratri / Dassehra Hindu 9/21/17 - 9/29/17 Thursday - Friday
Rosh Hashanah Jewish 9/21/17 - 9/22/17 Thursday - Friday
Yom Kippur Jewish 9/30/17 Saturday
Sukkoth Jewish 10/5/17 - 10/6/17 Thursday - Friday
Sh'mini Atzeret Jewish 10/12/17 Thursday
Simchat Torah Jewish 10/13/17 Friday
Diwali Hindu 10/19/17 Thursday
Maulid al-Nabi Islamic 12/1/17 Friday
Hanukkah Jewish 12/13/17 - 12/20/17 Wednesday - Wednesday 
Christmas Christian 12/25/17 Monday
Spring 2018      
Ash Wednesday Christian 2/14/18 Wednesday
Maha Shivaratri Hindu 2/14/18 Wednesday
Purim Jewish 3/1/18 Thursday
Holi Hindu 3/2/18 - 3/3/18 Friday - Saturday
Ramanavami Hindu 3/26/18 Monday
Good Friday Christian 3/30/18 Friday
Passover Jewish 3/31/18 - 4/7/18 Saturday - Saturday
Easter Christian 4/1/18 Sunday
Ramadan (Beginning) Islamic 5/16/18 Wednesday
Shavouth Jewish 5/20/18 Sunday
  • All Jewish and Islamic holidays begin at sundown on the evening before the first date shown.
  • Muslim holiday dates may vary based on interpretations of the lunar calendar.

 

 

Top