Ready to Apply?
File your application
online through SUNY's
Apply Now

Home :: Academics :: Arts & Sciences :: Physics

Department of Physics

The Physics Department at Farmingdale State College provides its students with an understanding of the interactions among all forms of matter, energy, and space. Toward this end, the Department offers each student a physics education carefully tailored to suit his/her needs at all levels of baccalaureate education.

Students pursuing science-related or technically-oriented degrees take either the algebra-based College Physics sequence (PHY 135 and PHY 136) or the calculus-based Physics sequence (PHY 143 and PHY 144). Students who complete these sequences may also choose from a number of electives covering such fields as electromagnetic theory and modern physics.

Students not pursuing a science-related field of study may choose from among a diverse assortment of physical science courses, including astronomy, meteorology, geology, and the environment. These specialized courses for non-science students are taught by faculty with strong interest and expertise in the respective sub-disciplines. Students have the opportunity to taste the flavor of science and to appreciate its value to humanity in a technical society.

For more information, please call or email:
Dr. Lloyd Makarowitz, Chairperson, at (631) 420-2188.

Visit faculty webpages

Email faculty and staff:

Lloyd Makarowitz, Chairperson and Professor

George N. Caviris, Professor

Yuen S. Chinn, Professor

Edmund M. Douglass, Assistant Professor

Bryan J. Field, Assistant Professor

Jeffrey S. Oishi, Assistant Professor

Peter J. Nolan, Professor

Morton P. Seitelman, Professor

Jack W. Simonson, Assistant Professor

Solomon O. Ayo, Instructional Support Specialist

Michael Raffanello, Instructional Support Associate

Linda M. Rennie, Department Secretary

Important links:

Department of Physics
Lupton 200
Farmingdale State College
2350 Broadhollow Road
Farmingdale, NY 11735
Phone: (631) 420-2188
Fax: (631) 420-2327

Please E-mail suggestions and comments concerning Physics Department Web Pages to  Dr. Lloyd Makarowitz, who is responsible for these pages. Thank you.